What's your opinion on using home grown ingredients in cooking? does it actually make any noticable difference?

What's your opinion on using home grown ingredients in cooking? does it actually make any noticable difference?

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

Homeless People Are Sexy Shirt $21.68

Schizophrenic Conspiracy Theorist Shirt $21.68

  1. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Yes and its fun. Now is the perfect time to order some chili pepper seeds.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      This is my fav spot to order pepper seeds from. They have an incredible selection, and they always hook you up with free seed packs!

      https://towns-endchiliandspice.com/

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        im afraid they dont ship to where I live, thanks for the recommendation either way

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        >Jalapenos
        For pickling/fermenting
        >Habaneros
        Cooking
        >Lemon Drop
        Snacking
        >Chinese five colour
        Just because its beatiful
        Whats missing?

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          Paprika, and cayenne for drying/powder. There are some other good varieties for drying. I forget the name, but they're tiny lil round peppers.

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            Cherry peppers maybe?

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              Chiltepins!

              • 1 month ago
                Anonymous

                Looks very strange but ill give it a try, thanks!

  2. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    if youre looking for jaw dropping flavor changes akin to the discovery of salt then no but there is an INHERENT satisfaction to eating something you grew. I once had a potato my mom grew that was lazily baked over a fire with a little salt and it was the best. Along with some multicolored carrots (idk how else to refer to the yellow and purple varities) it's just really satisfying to have a nice entree/app from a homegrown veggie. For spices just do it anyways it's a nice routine and a conversation starter.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >idk how else to refer to the yellow and purple varieties
      heritage varieties

  3. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    home grown tomatoes are in another planet compared to what i get at the store during the cold seasons

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      really? what exactly sets it apart?

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      This, most vegetables at your local supermarket have been chosen solely for durability and shelf life, not for flavor. Tomatoes are a big offender here because they're prone to blemishes and rot.

      But growing your own food also gives you food that's exactly in season, so as long as you pick it at the correct time, it will always be perfectly ripe. This opens up all kinds of opportunities for leafy greens and random vegetables your local supermarket either doesn't sell or sells at a premium because it's rare and weird.

      really? what exactly sets it apart?

      Home-grown tomatoes have far more flavor and are less watery.

  4. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Most of our hobby planting is just that: a hobby.

    The most useful part of our planting are herbs. I don't need fresh mint or fresh parsley every day, but when I do need it, I appreciate not having to go to the store to buy a little bunch of something.

  5. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    For things supermarkets sell, homegrown means you can actually let them ripen/mature so they don't taste of nothing.
    For things they don't, you can have ingredients that aren't easy to find where you live. For foreign-born MFs, like me and the missus, homegrowing is invaluable

  6. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Store bought oranges give me diarreah. The ones grown at my house do not.

  7. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >does it actually make any noticable difference?
    Eh, honestly, no, not really. A potato is a potato. It only really matters for herbs in my opinion where the fresher they are the better. Otherwise, it only makes sense to grow really economical things like potatos, tomatos, and peppers that take up little space and have high yield. They won't taste any different but if you can grow them easily you may as well. I would say it's better to just buy complicated things like mushrooms because by the time you find or buy all the stuff to get started you've spent more time and money that you're not actually saving even though mushrooms are often expensive.

  8. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    get some good seeds and it makes a difference

  9. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Homegrown food tastes significantly better. I remember trying to grow cucumbers back when I was a kid and the soil was way too packed and not enriched so the cucumbers were stunted. Despite this, they still had a much richer flavour than store-bought ones.

    My grandma grows a lot of stuff and her carrots are fantastic.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *