Elitist Food Opinions

What are some of the more common elitist/snobby opinions when it comes to food? Things like "chili can't have beans" or hotdogs can't have ketchup" or "crunchy tacos aren't real tacos."

Shopping Cart Returner Shirt $21.68

Nothing Ever Happens Shirt $21.68

Shopping Cart Returner Shirt $21.68

  1. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >elitism is le bad

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >yes

  2. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Pretty much anything anybody has ever said about carbonara.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      99% of food discussion is snobbery.

      To be fair, I went to a boomer restaurant which served "carbonara" which used chicken instead of pork and alfredo instead of the egg-parmesan sauce.
      If people are seriously calling chicken alfredo 'carbonara' I can see why Italians would be so pedantic about it.

  3. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    >What are some of the more common elitist/snobby opinions when it comes to food?
    I hate packaged/powdered/concentrated broth, it all tastes like garbage. I make my own out of Costco Rotisserie chickens and it makes every soup and gravy and sauce better.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      I was once like you. I painstakingly collected every scrap of chicken I could and when I had enough used them to make a huge pot of stock. Then I tried Better Than Bouillon. Shit's just as good, if not better, for hardly any money and basically no work. I am no longer a chicken-stock snob.

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        Go to bed Brian

  4. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Using a recipe isn't really "cooking", it's just following instructions because someone other than you was brave enough to make the mistakes you're not willing to make. You are not a chef because you made a recipe you found on allrecipes.com, nor are you in any way better than someone who hurls random glop into a crockpot.

    Cooking is at both times an art and a science. Anyone who doesn't recognize that is doomed to become a food scientist who can't cook an edible meal to save their life, or a food artist who can't cook an edible meal to save their life. And both will make their life's work discrediting those around them in some kind of esoteric pursuit of how much better they are at cooking some gastronomic abomination or haute cuisine nightmare than you are at making Meemaw's Taco Casserole.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      >cook·ing
      >/ˈko͝okiNG/
      >noun
      >the practice or skill of preparing food by combining, mixing, and heating ingredients.

      you can say they're not a chef, but you can't say they aren't cooking

      • 1 month ago
        Anonymous

        I already did.

        • 1 month ago
          Anonymous

          ok, then you are wrong

          • 1 month ago
            Anonymous

            You just have low standards. The definition of words changes over time. Just because we've normalized incompetence in the kitchen doesn't mean we can't advance past that.

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              >implying the definition of "cooking" has changed at any point over the past 300 years or is changing now
              it's not my fault you don't know what words mean, anon. don't try to pin this on me.

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              Autism

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              >The definition of words changes over time.
              Did you know that a vaccine does not prevent you from catching a disease, does not prevent you from spreading a disease, and does not prevent you from getting sick from a disease?
              Not only that, but vaccines don't work unless everyone gets vaccinated.

            • 1 month ago
              Anonymous

              You using words incorrectly has nothing to do with semantic drift. The only low standard here is yours towards language.

              • 1 month ago
                Anonymous

                >The definition of words changes over time.
                Did you know that a vaccine does not prevent you from catching a disease, does not prevent you from spreading a disease, and does not prevent you from getting sick from a disease?
                Not only that, but vaccines don't work unless everyone gets vaccinated.

                Autism

                https://i.imgur.com/22L4wIu.jpeg

                >implying the definition of "cooking" has changed at any point over the past 300 years or is changing now
                it's not my fault you don't know what words mean, anon. don't try to pin this on me.

                Such creeping mendacity.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Holy cooklet take. I bet you hate recipes because you can't ever do them right the first time, and you suck at selecting good recipes as well.

  5. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Steak has to be raw on the inside or it's ruined, and you can't eat it with any sauces, especially ketchup. Like, who the frick cares? It's just a piece of meat.

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Hear hear. Eat it like you like it, that's my motto. I don't think a well-done steak is "ruined." It's just different. I grew up eating well-done steak because that's what my mom and dad ate; I was well into my teens before I learned that you could cook it any other way.

  6. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    if you use a garlic crusher I will crush your head

    also, keep ketchup off of hotdogs you israelites

  7. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    For some things, if you don't have the right ingredients, it's better to not bother doing them.
    For exemple caprese salad is shit if you don't have good quality tomatoes

    • 1 month ago
      Anonymous

      Quality of ingredients become more important the fewer and more simple your recipe is.
      You can get away with low tier shit in a curry loaded in spices, but you can tell right away when frying an bad quality egg or a steak.

  8. 1 month ago
    Anonymous

    Chocolate chip cookies must be chewy

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *